# **International Relations Committee**

**Committee Members:** E. P. Lessa (Chair), P. Busher, I. Castro-Arellano, M. R. Gannon, S. Gardner, C. Himes, M. E. Hopton, C. Iudica, W. Z. Lidicker, Jr., A. V. Linzey, R. K. Rose, K. Rowe, L. Ruedas, J. A. Salazar-Bravo, D. A. Schlitter, A. T. Smith, R. Stevens, J. Mary Taylor, S. Vignieri, S. Weyandt

## Mission:

The Board of Directors established the International Relations Committee in 1960 to maintain and enhance communication between members of the Society and mammalogists outside North America. The mission of this committee is to advance the field of mammalogy by encouraging and facilitating international collaboration among members of the ASM and mammalogists from other countries.

### **Information Items:**

(1) In collaboration with the Membership Committee, 39 sponsored memberships and subscriptions have been awarded since the Society's meeting in Springfield. This figure is comparable to sponsored memberships awarded in the previous year. The Committee has continued to receive nominations and requests, and has worked towards expanding the geographical distribution of these memberships. The Committee maintains a waiting list of potential recipients, again in collaboration with the Membership Committee.

(2) The Committee has worked in conjunction with Journal Editor, Dr. Barbara H. Blake, in using a "buddy system" to help international authors prepare their manuscripts for submission to the *Journal of Mammalogy*.

(3) Committee members have continued to serve as links with mammal societies throughout the world and provided information on mammal meetings to appear in the Journal of Mammalogy. We have recently completed an updated list of international mammal societies and (when available) their current web pages. The list, with live links to those webpages, is now available under the heading "Mammalogy on the Internet" on the ASM webpage. We are currently revising the listing in order to keep it current.

(4) The Committee has initiated gradual changes in its membership, to allow the participation of additional members of the society in our activities.

(5) The Chair would like to thank the support of all Committee members, especially the continuing efforts of Mike Gannon to ensure the success of the sponsored membership program, and the work of Bill Lidicker, who served as Acting Chair from late November 2005 to mid April 2006.

### Action Items: None

### **Respectfully submitted,**

Enrique P. Lessa, Chair (lessa@fcien.edu.uy)