Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee

Committee Members: L. Dizney, V. Hayssen (Chair), S. Jansa, J. Light, K. Lucia, M. Matocq, J. Reichard, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, J. Smith, P. Stapp, K. Thorington, S. Vignieri.

Mission:

The committee's mission is to select students to be honored for their research in Mammalogy and to select travel grant recipients in two categories, early career and student.

Information Items:

- (1) From 4 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Grant Committee awarded 4 graduate honoraria, each for \$1000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to Elizabeth Kierepka (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee); the Elmer C. Birney Award to Adam T. Ford (University of British Columbia); the A. Brazier Howell Graduate Student Travel Grant to Jason L. Malaney (Museum of Southwestern Biology, University of New Mexico) and the Annie M. Alexander Graduate Student Travel Grant to Brooks Kohli (University of New Mexico).
- (2) From 3 applications the Committee awarded 2 undergraduate honoraria of \$500 each to Lauren Dorough (University of California-Fullerton) and Dakota Rowsey (Pacific Lutheran University).
- (3) 2013 was the first year of the travel grant awards. The Committee received 140 abstracts (2 were received after the committee had deliberated and hence were not considered). The abstracts were divided into 2 categories: early career (29 abstracts) and student (109 abstracts). Some individuals submitted more than one abstract, one individual submitted an abstract in both categories. These and other issues will be discussed by the Committee at its Annual Meeting. We can report the outcome of those discussions at the Board's second meeting. The following 4 individuals received early career travel grants (the Committee did not receive data on institutional affiliation) each for \$500: Anthony Caragiulo, Brandi Coyner, Taal Levi, and Sandeep Sharma. The following 20 individuals received student travel grants each for \$300: Michael Buchalski, Robbie Burger, Gerald Carter, Laura Cisneros, Katherine Cleary, Laura D'Acunto, Terrence Demos, J. Erin Fender, Katrina Jones, Molly McDonough, Melissa Merrick, Jonathan Nations, Mirian Tieko Nunes Tsuchiya, Lorelei Patrick, Rachel Pigg, Blair Roberts, Cody Schroeder, Elizabeth Troyer, Danielle Tufts, and Tammy Wilbert.
- (4) The Committee is requesting a monetary increase in the Honoraria Awards in keeping with the prestige of the awards and the increasing costs of attending the meetings.

Action Items:

(1)	\$8000	4 * \$2000 for graduate honoraria (Jackson, Howell, Birney, Alexander)
	\$2000	2 * \$1000 for undergraduate honoraria
	\$2000	4 * \$500 for early career travel grants
	<u>\$3000</u>	10 * \$300 for student travel grants

\$15000 Total budget

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

Respectfully submitted, Virginia Hayssen (Vhayssen@email.smith.edu)