Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: R. T. Bower, P. D. Moehlman, K. M. Helgen, T. E. Lacher, Jr., W. P. Smith, T. J. O'Shea, V. Sánchez-Cordero (Chair).

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

Information Items:

(1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Hornaday Student Conservation Award. This year there were no nominations submitted for the Hornaday Award, and one nomination submitted for the Leopold Award. Nomination for the Leopold Award was received and evaluated by the Committee. The Committee supported the nomination of the nominee for the Leopold Award unanimously, and the nomination was forwarded to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. The Award will be presented at the banquet at the 2012 Annual Meeting in Reno, Nevada.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$300.00 for the Leopold Award plague.

Respectfully submitted,

Víctor Sánchez-Cordero, Chair (unmpres@unm.edu)