Patton Award Committee

Committee Members: K. Bell, J. Esselstyn, S. Jansa, Eric Rickart, Rebecca Rowe (Chair)

Mission:

The James L. Patton award was established in 2015 to promote and support museum-based research by graduate student members of ASM. The award honors Jim's commitment to museum collections and their use in understanding the ecology and evolution of mammals, his passion for mentoring young mammalogists, and his long-standing service to the society.

Information Items:

- (1) The 2020 recipient of the Patton Award was announced online last summer and was Giovanni Tolentino Ramos, a graduate student at the University of Oklahoma.
- (2) Membership on the Committee decreased this year from 6 to 5 individuals. Duke Rogers transitioned off the committee to attend to other commitments. We thank Duke for his efforts in establishing this award and serving on this committee since its inception.
- (3) We received 22 applications for the Patton Award in 2021. Application review is underway and the recipient will be announced to the society at the closing event of the upcoming 2021 Annual Meeting.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2022 recipient of the Patton Award.

Respectfully submitted, Rebecca J. Rowe, Chair (rebecca.rowe@unh.edu)