Patton Award Committee

Committee Members: K. Bell, J. Esselstyn, S. Jansa, Eric Rickart, Duke Rogers, Rebecca Rowe (Chair).

Mission:

The James L. Patton award was established in 2015 to promote and support museum-based research by graduate student members of ASM. The award honors Jim's commitment to museum collections and their use in understanding the ecology and evolution of mammals, his passion for mentoring young mammalogists, and his long-standing service to the society.

Information Items:

- (1) At the closing event of the 2019 Annual Meeting in Washington D.C., we announced the 2019 recipient of the Patton Award: Edgardo M. Rengifo Vásquez, a PhD student at the University of São Paulo.
- (2) In October 2019 the Board of Directors voted to elevate the Patton Award Committee from an ad hoc committee to a standing committee within the ASM.
- (3) Membership on the Committee increased this year from 5 to 6 individuals. In addition, we had turnover in committee members. Both Enrique Lessa and Marjorie Matocq transitioned off the committee to attend to other ASM service commitments. We thank them for their efforts in establishing this award and serving on this committee since its inception. Kayce Bell, Jake Esselstyn, and Sharon Jansa joined the committee this year.
- (4) We received 27 applications for the Patton Award in 2020. The diversity and quality of proposals was outstanding. The 2020 recipient of the Patton Award has been identified and will be announced to the society this summer.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2021 recipient of the Patton Award.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca J. Rowe Chair, Patton Award Committee rebecca.rowe@unh.edu