Grants-in-Aid Committee

Committee Members: J. R. Burger, B. Buttler, C. J. Conroy, T. Giarla, J. R. Goheen, P. W. Guiden, G. D. Hartman, V. Hayssen, A. G. Hope, A. Hornsby, D. M. Kaufman, H. C. Lanier, P. A. Larsen, S. C. Loeb, B. S. McLean, B. R. McMillan (Chair), S. G. Mech, M. Merrick, D. K. Odell, B. Pasch, A. W. Reed, K. C. Rowe, J. A. Soto-Centeno, R. D. Stevens, R. K. Swihart, P. Velazco.

Mission:

The Grants-in-Aid Committee reviews applications for grants-in-aid and fellowships in mammalogy (American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship in Mammalogy, and the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship in Mammalogy) and either selects recipients for these awards or recommends recipients for these awards.

Information Items:

- (1) The committee currently has 27 members. We added 2 new members this year, Angelo Soto-Centeno and Christopher Jacques. A few individuals have rotated off this committee and we could use a few new members to facilitate in the important roles of this committee. Please contact Enrique Lessa or Brock McMillan if you are interested in serving on this Committee.
- (2) We received 98 applications for Grants-in-Aid in 2021, which is down slightly from last year. The budget for Grants-in-Aid was set by the Board at \$56,200, which provides funding for 37 awards. Each committee member was asked to review and rank 16 Grants-in-Aid applications. The Committee ranked the 98 proposals and 37 were selected for support based on their average ranking. The diversity and quality of the proposals was outstanding. The committee members continue to make an effort to provide each applicant with some constructive comments on his/her proposal. Names of the students who have received a 2021 grant-in-aid are included at the end of this report.
- (3) This year's Horner Award winner for the top-ranked GIA proposal is Mattina Alonge from the University of California, Berkeley. The title of her grant application was, "Interaction of Reproductive Costs and Elevation on Physiology of Overwintering Townsend's Big-eared Bats in the White-Inyo Mts.".
- (4) In 2020, we received and reviewed several fellowship applications. The recipient of the ASM Fellowship was Jonathan Nations from Louisiana State University. The 2020 recipient of the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship was Jesse Alston from the University of Wyoming.

For 2021, we have received seven applications for the ASM and Shadle Fellowships. These applications will be distributed to committee members electronically and nominees will be selected during a closed session virtual meeting. The 2021 amount of the American Society of

Mammalogists Fellowship is \$20,000 and the Albert R. and Alma E. Shadle Fellowship will be \$5,000.

Action items:

(1) 2021 Budget Request—no change from 2020.

Grants-in-Aid of Research 37 x \$1,500	\$55,500
Horner Award	\$500
ASM Fellowship	\$20,000
Social tickets for students 10 x \$20	\$200
Total Request	\$76,200

(2) 2021 ASM Grants-in-Aid Recipients

Mattina Alonge University of California, Berkeley

Antonia Androski University of New Mexico
Carly Batist City University of New York
Laura Bone Northern Arizona University

Jesse Burgher Washington State University, Vancouver

Connor Burgin

Eaqan Chaudhry

Austin Chipps

Alexandra Coconis

Mildred Fabiola Corona Figueroa

Celine Cortes

University of New Mexico

State University of New York

Louisiana State University

University of Nevada Reno

El Colegio de la Frontera Sur

Oklahoma State University

Megan Edic University of California, Los Angeles

Madison Gaetano

Alannah Grant

Heru Handika

Alexander Hare

Camila Hurtado

University of Cincinnati

University of Guelph

Louisiana State University

University of Guelph

University of Alberta

Anna Jackson University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Sean Johnson-Bice University of Manitoba
Molly Jones Kansas State University
David Kay Oklahoma State University
Lauren MacDonald New Mexico State University
Austin Nash University of Colorado Boulder

Ariek Norford Stony Brook University Nolan Perryman University of New Mexico Payton Phillips
Conner Philson
Dominique Raboin
Mauriel Rodriguez Curras
Zoe Rossman
Mallory Sandoval Lambert
Matthew Smith
Michelle Taal
Miranda Theriot
Md Ashraf Ul Hasan
Lazaro Vinola

Respectively submitted, Brock R. McMillan, Chair (brock_mcmillan@byu.edu)

Matthew Whalen

Temple University
University of California Las Angeles
Rutgers University
University of Wisconsin-Madison
University of New Mexico
Utah State University
University of Wisconsin-Madison
The Ohio State University
University of Oklahoma
Texas Tech University
Florida Museum of Natural History
University of Michigan