# **Grants-in-Aid Committee**

**Committee Members:** A.A. Ahlers, K. Bell, J.R. Burger, B. Buttler, C.J. Conroy, S. Gehrt, T. Giarla, J.R. Goheen, G.D. Hartman, V. Hayssen, A.G. Hope, A. Hornsby, D.M. Kaufman, H.C. Lanier, P. Larsen, S.C. Loeb, B.S. McLean, B. McMillan (Chair), S. Mech, M. Merrick, D.K. Odell, N. Ordóñez-Garza, B. Pasch, A.W. Reed, T.E. Roberts, K.C. Rowe, J. Ryan, R.L. Schooley, R.D. Stevens, R. Swihart, P. Velazco.

### Mission:

The Grants-in-Aid Committee reviews applications for grants-in-aid and fellowships in mammalogy (American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship in Mammalogy and the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship in Mammalogy) and either selects recipients for these awards or recommends recipients for these awards.

#### **Information Items:**

(1) Membership on the Committee is currently at 31 members. We added 1 new member this year, Rob Swihart. We are always looking for additional members to facilitate in the important roles of this committee. Please contact Doug Kelt or Brock McMillan if you are interested in serving on this Committee.

(2) We received 89 applications for Grants-in-Aid in 2019. The budget for Grants-in-Aid was set by the Board at \$56,200. Each committee member was asked to review and rank 16 Grants-in-Aid applications. The Committee ranked the 89 proposals and 37 were selected for support based on their average ranking. The diversity and quality of the proposals was outstanding. The committee members continue to make an effort to provide each applicant with some constructive comments on his/her proposal. Names of the students who have received a 2019 grant-in-aid are attached to the end of this report.

(3) This year's Horner Award winner for the top-ranked GIA proposal is Juliete Rubin from Boise State University. The title of his grant application was, "Testing an anti-predator sensory illusion in the wild: chasing an acoustic illusion in the bat–moth arms race."

(4) In 2018, 4 fellowship applications were received and reviewed. The 2018 ASM Fellowship recipient was Brooks Kohli from the University of New Hampshire. The Shadle Fellowship recipient was Jocelyn Colella from the University of New Mexico. Applications for 2019 are not due until 1 May so we do not know how many will be submitted. Those applications will be distributed to committee members electronically and nominees will be selected during a closed session at the Annual Meeting. The 2019 amount of the American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship was increased by the board to \$20,000 during the 2018 Board Meeting and the Albert R. and Alma E. Shadle Fellowship in Mammalogy will be approximately \$4,500 in 2019.

## Action items:

(1) 2019 Budget Request—no change from 2018.

Grants-in-Aid of Research 37 x \$1,500	\$55,500
Horner Award	\$500
ASM Fellowship	\$20,000
Social tickets for students 10 x \$20	\$200
Total Request	\$76,200

A request to increase the ASM Fellowship was approved by the board in 2018. We are grateful for that additional allocation and make the same request for 2019 that was approved in 2018.

### (2) 2019 ASM Grants-in-Aid Recipients

Addison Allen	
Brittany Brito	Shannon O'Brien
Jessica Brown	Michael Peyton
Mena Davidson	Payton Phillips
Amy-Charlotte Devitz	Mauriel Rodrigues Curras
Drew Eline	Juliete Rubin
Grace Freymiller	Daniel Sallee
Nicholas Freymueller	Mariah Schlis-Elias
Deborah Hawkshaw	Brad Smith
Gabriela Heyer	Rebecca Smith
Kelsi Hunnicutt	Sean Sultaire
Erica Johnson	Miranda Theriot
Jonathan Keller	Giovanni Tolentino Ramos
Sydney Lamb	Grant Vagle
Jesse Laney	Rachel Voyt
Ingrid Lundeen	Lucas Weaver
Molly McEntee	Amy Wray
Janine Mistrick	Kwasi Wrensford
Kimberly Neil	Stella Yuan

**Respectively submitted,** Brock R. McMillan, Chair (<u>brock\_mcmillan@byu.edu</u>)