Patton Award Committee

Committee Members:

Kayce Bell, John Demboski, Jake Esselstyn, Sharon Jansa, Hayley Lanier, and Rebecca Rowe (Chair)

Mission:

The James L. Patton award was established in 2015 to promote and support museum-based research by graduate student members of ASM. The award honors Jim's commitment to museum collections and their use in understanding the ecology and evolution of mammals, his passion for mentoring young mammalogists, and his long-standing service to the society.

Information Items:

- (1) The 2022 recipient of the Patton Award was Gabriele Ilarde, a PhD student at the University of Minnesota. The recipient was announced at the award ceremony at the Annual Meeting in June 2022.
- (2) Membership on the Committee changed this year. Eric Rickart stepped down from the committee and John Demboski joined the committee. We thank Eric for his many years of service and look forward to John's contributions.
- (3) We received 18 applications for the Patton Award in 2023. Application review is underway, and the recipient will be announced to the society at the closing event of the upcoming 2023 Annual Meeting.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2024 recipient of the Patton Award

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca J. Rowe Chair, Patton Award Committee rebecca.rowe@unh.edu