Conservation Awards Committee 2023

Committee Members: J. L. Koprowski (Interim Chair), J. Esselstyn, J. R. Goheen, J. González-Maya, K. M. Helgen, C. Jacques, T. Jung, M. Tewes, S. Wisely.

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the Murie Family Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002, but until 2020, the Murie Family Award was known as the William T. Hornaday Award. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The Murie Family Award was created to recognize a current graduate/undergraduate student or early career researchers with 5 year of their terminal degree, who has made a significant contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

Information Items:

- (1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Murie Family Conservation Award. This year was again challenging and we received 2 completed nominations for the Leopold award, despite widely advertising. However, we did not initially receive any nominations for the Murie Family award. We extended the deadline to 15 June and received 5 wonderful nominations. The nominations were evaluated by the Committee, our top candidate for each award was determined through consensus by the Committee and forwarded to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. The Awards will be presented at the Awards Ceremony at the 2024 Meeting in Boulder, Colorado.
- (2) A new Chair of the committee is needed with the departure of interim chair.
- (3) No budget is needed for plaques and travel as these have been reassigned to the Vice President.

Action Items:

None

Respectfully submitted,

Den L Korewill.

John L. Koprowski, Interim Chair, jkoprows@uwyo.edu