Patton Award Committee

Committee Members: Kayce Bell, Jake Esselstyn, Sharon Jansa, Hayley Lanier, Eric Rickart, Rebecca Rowe (Chair)

Mission:

The James L. Patton award was established in 2015 to promote and support museum-based research by graduate student members of ASM. The award honors Jim's commitment to museum collections and their use in understanding the ecology and evolution of mammals, his passion for mentoring young mammalogists, and his long-standing service to the society.

Information Items:

- (1) The 2021 recipient of the Patton Award was Courtney Reed, a PhD student at Brown University. The recipient was announced at the virtual conference award ceremony in June 2021.
- (2) Membership on the Committee increased this year from 5 to 6 individuals. We thank Hayley Lanier for joining this committee and look forward to her contributions.
- (3) We modified the proposal narrative requiring a *Museum Collections Statement* where applicants are to summarize their engagement in collections-based research and describe how their research will contribute to the development of natural history collections and their associated data (e.g., field collection, curation, and digitization).
- (4) We received 14 applications for the Patton Award in 2022. Application review is underway, and the recipient will be announced to the society at the closing event of the upcoming 2022 Annual Meeting.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$5,000.00 for the 2023 recipient of the Patton Award.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca J. Rowe, Chair (rebecca.rowe@unh.edu)