Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: E. F. Baerwald (Chair), J. Esselstyn, K. Everson, J. R. Goheen, J. González-Maya, K. M. Helgen, C. Jacques, T. Jung, M. Tewes, S. Wisely.

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the Murie Family Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002, but until 2020, the Murie Family Award was known as the William T. Hornaday Award. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The Murie Family Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. As of 2019, the Murie Family award is open to students AND early career researchers within 5 years of their terminal degree

Information Items:

(1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Murie Family Conservation Award. This year was AGAIN challenging because of Covid-19 and we received no completed nominations for the Leopold award, despite widely advertising and extending the dates. This lack of nominees prompted our committee to suggest a well-known individual without a complete package. However, we received two wonderful nominations for the Murie Family award. The nomination was evaluated by the Committee and nominees were accepted by the Committee and forwarded to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. The Awards will be presented at the Awards Ceremony at the 2023 Meeting in Anchorage, Alaska.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$4400 = \$2200 for the Leopold Award (\$300 for the plaque and \$1900 for travel costs—foreign) and \$2200 for the Murie Family Award (\$300 for the plaque and \$1900 for travel costs—foreign) to bring awardees to the Annual Meeting in Anchorage and pay their registration costs.

Respectfully submitted,

Erin F. Baerwald, Chair (baerwald@unbc.ca)