## **Marine Mammals Committee**

Committee Members: D. Allen, R. L. Brownell, Jr., C. M. Callahan, J. P. Dines, K. M. Dudzinski, H. H. Edwards, M. S. Leslie (co-chair), M. R. McGowen (co-chair), T. J. McIntyre, D. K. Odell, C. W. Potter, S. Sheffield, E. E. Smith.

## Mission:

The Marine Mammals Committee was formed in 1921 and Chaired by E. W. Nelson. It is the longest-standing active Committee of the American Society of Mammalogists. Its mission is to maintain and encourage interest in marine mammals in the ASM, to provide the Society Membership with information about marine mammalogy, including conservation and legislative issues, to spearhead resolutions and legislation involving marine mammals, and to serve as a liaison between ASM and the Society for Marine Mammalogy (SMM). Members of the Marine Mammals Committee are frequently active in both ASM and the Society for Marine Mammals.

## **Information Items:**

- (1) Michael McGowen (NMNH) and Matthew Leslie (Swarthmore College) took over in June 2019 as co-chairs.
- (2) Joint ASM-SMM letter to the Mexican government on the vaquita (*Phocoena sinus*):

The committee was approached to help link SMM (Society for Marine Mammalogy) and ASM in having one voice in drafting a letter to the Mexican government on the critically endangered vaquita. The SMM ultimately decided not to sign on due to time concerns but supported the letter. The co-chairs were involved in editing the letter, and this was sent from ASM President Kelt to President Lopez-Obrador of Mexico, Dr. Victor Toledo Manzur (Secretary of the Environment), Mr. Víctor Manuel Villalobos Arámbula (Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development), Admiral José Rafael Ojeda Duran (Secretary of the Marines), Mr. Raúl Elenes (National Commissioner for Aquaculture and Fisheries), Biólogo Roberto Aviña (Comisionado Nacional de Áreas Naturales Protegidas), and Ms. Ivonne Higuero, Secretary General of CITES.

(3) The committee members discussed drafting a proposal for a marine mammal themed symposium at the joint IMC-ASM meeting in Anchorage in 2021. We are still in the process of discussing this and a proposal will be submitted on 1 May.

**Action Items:** None.

## Respectfully submitted,

Matthew Leslie, Co-Chair (<u>matt.s.leslie@gmail.com</u>) Michael McGowen, Co-Chair (<u>mcgowenm@si.edu</u>)