Grants-in-Aid Committee

Committee Members: A.A. Ahlers, J.R. Burger, B. Buttler, C.J. Conroy, T. Giarla, J.R. Goheen, P.W. Guiden, G.D. Hartman, V. Hayssen, A.G. Hope, A. Hornsby, D.M. Kaufman, H.C. Lanier, P.A. Larsen, S.C. Loeb, B.S. McLean, B.R. McMillan (Chair), S.G. Mech, M. Merrick, D.K. Odell, B. Pasch, A.W. Reed, K.C. Rowe, J. Ryan, R.D. Stevens, R.K. Swihart, P. Velazco.

Mission:

The Grants-in-Aid Committee reviews applications for grants-in-aid and fellowships in mammalogy (American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship in Mammalogy and the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship in Mammalogy) and either selects recipients for these awards or recommends recipients for these awards.

Information Items:

- (1) The committee currently has 27 members. We added 1 new member this year, Pete Guiden. A few individuals have rotated off this committee and we could use a few new members to facilitate in the important roles of this committee. Please contact Enrique Lessa or Brock McMillan if you are interested in serving on this Committee.
- (2) We received 110 applications for Grants-in-Aid in 2020, which is up considerably from the past few years. The budget for Grants-in-Aid was set by the Board at \$56,200. Each committee member was asked to review and rank 16 Grants-in-Aid applications. The Committee ranked the 110 proposals and 37 were selected for support based on their average ranking. The diversity and quality of the proposals was outstanding. The committee members continue to make an effort to provide each applicant with some constructive comments on his/her proposal. Names of the students who have received a 2020 grant-in-aid are included in Ammendment 1 at the end of this report.
- (3) This year's Horner Award winner for the top-ranked GIA proposal is Emily Nonnamaker from the University of Notre Dame. The title of her grant application was, "Do microbes contribute to olfactory signals of ovulation in baboons?".
- (4) In 2019, we received and reviewed several fellowship applications. The 2019 recipient of the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship was Katie Stanchak from the University of Washington. We have received nine applications for ASM and Shadle Fellowships in 2020. These applications will be distributed to committee members electronically and nominees will be selected during a closed session virtual meeting. The 2020 amount of the American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship is \$20,000 and the Albert R. and Alma E. Shadle Fellowship will be \$5,000.

Action items:

(1) 2021 Budget Request—no change from 2020.

Grants-in-Aid of Research 37 x \$1,500	\$55,500
Horner Award	\$500
ASM Fellowship	\$20,000
Social tickets for students 10 x \$20	\$200
Total Request	\$76,200

(2) 2020 ASM Grants-in-Aid Recipients

Respectively submitted,

Brock R. McMillan, Chair

(brock_mcmillan@byu.edu)

Appendix 1. The 2020 recipients of a Grant-in-Aid Award.

Giorgia Auteri University of Michigan Felix Baier Harvard University Emily Beasley University of Vermont

Hailey Boone State University of New York
Ben Borgmann-Winter University of New Hampshire

Elaine Brice Utah State University

Raylenne da Silva Araujo National Institute for Amazonian Research

Caylee Falvo University of Vermont

Adriana Guerrero-Chacon University of Saskatchewan University of Saskatchewan Deborah Hawkshaw University of New Hampshire Sarah Heissenberger Gabriela Heyer University of Saskatchewan Molly Hirst University of Michigan Rachel Kanaziz Colorado State University Abigail Kelly University of Cincinnati Molly McEntee Georgetown University

Ellen Michels Northern Michigan University

Kirby Mills University of Michigan

Kendall Mills University of Alaska Fairbanks

Francisco Molina University of Wyoming

Rachel Nelson The George Washington University
Emily Nonnamaker The University of Notre Dame
Shannon O'Brien University of California, Berkeley
Anna Penna University of Texas San Antonio
Erin Person University of California, Berkeley

Imran RazikThe Ohio State UniversityZoë RossmanUniversity of New MexicoRebecca SmithUniversity of Saskatchewan

David Sneddon University of Idaho Samantha Stead University of Toronto Rachel Stein University of Idaho

Isabel Sullivan University of Maryland, College Park

William Thomas Stony Brook University
Giovanni Tolentino Ramos
William Weber University of Oklahoma
University of Maryland

KwasiWrensford University of California, Berkeley Xueling Yi University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee