Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee

Committee Members: V. Bennett, M. Crowell, C. Day, L. Dizney, S. Esmaeili, E. Flaherty, V. Hayssen, C. Hedberg, K. Lucia-Simmons, M. Martin, M. Pardi (chair), T. Roberts, D. Rowsey, K. Stanchak, R. Stephens, K. Thorington, B. Wiens, J. Willoughby

Mission:

The Committee's mission is to select graduate and undergraduate students to be honored for their research in mammalogy, and to select travel grant recipients for undergraduate, graduate, and early-career travel awards.

Information Items:

(1) The Committee lost 1 member and the role of committee chair turned over to Melissa Pardi

(2) From 12 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee awarded four graduate honoraria, each for \$2,000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to Rachel Stein (University of Idaho), the Elmer C. Birney Award to Miranda Theriot (University of Oklahoma), the A. Brazier Howell Award to Sean Johnson-Bice (University of Manitoba), and the Annie M. Alexander Award to Kathryn Bischoff (University of Connecticut).

(3) From 3 applications, the Committee awarded 2 undergraduate honoraria of \$1,500. The awardees were Esteban Restrepo (Colecciones Biológicas de Universidad CES) and Katherine Garrett (University of Wyoming).

The table below summarizes the recent history of honoraria applications, revealing the high inter-annual variability in the number of applications:

Year	Undergraduate	Masters	Ph.D.	Total Graduate
2010 ^a	2	0	5	5
2011	9	2	12	14
2012	1	1	9	10
2013 ^b	3	1	3	4
2014	3	0	4	4
2015	4	4	8	12
2016	3	6	12	18
2017	1	4	6	10
2018	3	4	8	12
2019	7	5	13	18
2020	7	6	5	11
2021	4	3	4	7
2022	8	5	7	12
2023	3	2	10	12

^afirst year of shorter GRAD application

^bfirst year of Alexander (MS) Award

(4) We again were very pleased with the number and quality of applications in 2023 and will continue our efforts to advertise and promote the Honoraria program widely using multiple communication platforms, including social media. Sean Maher, the Informatics Committee Chair, has continued to help improve the committee's webpage and with Honoraria application submission, and we will continue to update it to provide clear instructions to applicants and to streamline the online submission process. We also extend special thanks to Cody Thompson, Program Committee Chair, and Kerrell Dunsmore with The Next Great Event, for significant help with advertising these opportunities.

(5) Based on feedback from the 2018 Board of Directors Meeting in Manhattan, KS, we continued to use a form external to the meeting website for abstract submission for Travel Awards; however, in 2023 submission switched to Google Forms from Qualtrics with the turnover in committee chair. The current abstract submission process allows students and early career applicants to apply for a travel award without having to pay for registration. The primary reasons behind the changes were to reduce the number of withdrawal reimbursements for the Program Committee and allow students to apply without potentially paying a fee to cancel their registration if they did not receive an award. Because of concerns raised in 2018 regarding unconscious/implicit bias with the review process, applicants were asked to remove names and institutions on the abstracts written in Word before committee review.

(6) A total of 119 mammalogists submitted abstracts for evaluation for Travel Awards. This number represented an increase from the previous year and exceeds the average number of abstracts from pre-COVID years (2022-51, 2021-40, 2020-75, 2019-144, 2018-60, 2017-72, 2016-53, 2015-121, 2014-94, 2013-140).

Of the 119 abstracts, 115 were current members and were divided into 2 categories for evaluation: 21early-career abstracts (2022-49, 2021-14, 2019-24, 2018-10, 2017-10, 2016-7, 2015-20, 2014-11, 2013-29) and 94 student abstracts (2021-26, 2020-61, 2019-120, 2018-50, 2017-61, 2016-43, 2015-84, 2014-80, and 2013-109). Of these applicants, 16 were from students supported by past Grants-in-Aid. Each abstract was reviewed by 7 committee members.

Last year's budget request to the Board was \$15,000 for 10 early-career travel awards of \$1,500 each, and \$18,000 for 30 student travel awards of \$600 each.

(7) We offered 1 Care Assistance Award this year of \$700. We received 3 applications this year, and this was the first year we were able to grant the award and have the recipient accept it. We have had several emails and comments acknowledging our Society for its efforts in inclusion related to this award (among its many other initiatives) and hope to continue to offer this into the future. We would like to see this award promoted more broadly.

(8) The Committee is requesting an increase in our budget for the 2024 travel awards to allow students and early career mammalogists to travel to attend the annual meeting of ASM in Boulder, CO as we attempt to recover our numbers post-COVID.

Action Items:

(1)	\$ 8,000	4 * \$2000 for graduate honoraria
	\$ 3,000	2 * \$1500 for undergraduate honoraria
	\$12,000	12 * \$1000 for early-career travel awards
	\$21,000	35 * \$600 for student travel awards
	<u>\$ 1,400</u>	2* \$700 for the care-takers award

\$45,400 Total budget

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

Respectfully submitted,

Melissa Pardi (<u>melissa.pardi@illinois.gov</u>) 28 April 2023

Appendix 1

First Name	Last Name	Institution/Organization	
Early Career			
•		University of Florida and Wild Animal	
Nina	Attias	Conservation Institute	
Stotra	Chakrabarti	Macalester College	
Jessica	Comley	Univeristi Brunei Darussalam	
Katrina	Derieg	University of Utah	
		Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History	
Arlo	Hinckley	and University of Seville	
Krzysztof	Kozak	UC Berkeley	
Rafaela	Missagia	Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais	
Zaida	Ortega	Universidad de Granada	
Thorbjörn	Sievert	University of Liège	
Erin	Siracusa	University of Exeter	
Student			
Wiens	Ben	University of Kansas	
Katherine	Biardi	California State University, Fullerton	
Monica	Cooper	University of Wisconsin, Madison	
Marcos	da Cruz	University of Oklahoma	
Sylvia	Durkin	University of California, Berkeley	
Lexi	Frank	University of Minnesota	
Gabriela	Franzoi Dri	University of Maine	
Nicole	Gorman	Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University	
Alexander	Hare	University of Guelph	
Carson	Hedberg	University of New Mexico	
Brigit	Humphreys	University of Maine	
Gabriele	Ilarde	University of Minnesota	
Maya	Juman	University of Cambridge	
Jonathan	Keller	University of New Mexico	
Burcu	Lacin Alas	uw-madison	
Nicole	Lopez	University of Montana	
Margaret	Merz	University of Maine	
Pedro	Mittelman	Georg-August-Universität-Göttingen	
Jongbeom	Park	Princeton	
Melissa	Pavez Fox	University of Exeter	
	Peralta		
Karen	Martinez	University of Pittsburgh	
Mariana	Ribeiro	Smithsonian-Mason School of Conservation	
Danielle	Rivet	University of Saskatchewan	
	Rodriguez		
Mauriel	Curras	University of Wisconsin-Madison	

Table 1. Travel Awards Recipients for 2023

		Universite de Montpellier and Universidad Peruana
Dennisse	Ruelas	Cayetano Heredia
Katelyn	Sanchez	Texas A&M University
Matthew	Smith	University of Wisconsin-Madison
Benjamin	Sullender	University of Washington
Anouch	Tamian	University of Strasbourg/CNRS
Karli	Weatherill	Colorado Mesa University