Marine Mammals Committee

Committee Members: D. Allen, R. L. Brownell, Jr., C. M. Callahan, J. P. Dines, K. M. Dudzinski, H. H. Edwards, M. S. Leslie (co-chair), M. R. McGowen (co-chair), T. J. McIntyre, D. K. Odell, C. W. Potter, S. Sheffield, E. E. Smith.

Mission:

The Marine Mammals Committee was formed in 1921 and Chaired by E. W. Nelson. It is the longest-standing active Committee of the American Society of Mammalogists. Its mission is to maintain and encourage interest in marine mammals in the ASM, to provide the Society Membership with information about marine mammalogy, including conservation and legislative issues, to spearhead resolutions and legislation involving marine mammals, and to serve as a liaison between ASM and the Society for Marine Mammalogy (SMM). Members of the Marine Mammals Committee are frequently active in both ASM and the Society for Marine Mammals.

Information Items:

(1) The committee has not been as active for most of the year spanning April 2021–2022, however we did have a virtual meeting in June 2021 during the ASM. We will be planning more virtual meetings this year.

Action Items: None.

Respectfully submitted,

Matthew Leslie and Michael McGowen, Co-Chairs (<u>matt.s.leslie@gmail.com</u>) Michael McGowen (<u>mcgowenm@si.edu</u>)