## **Grants-in-Aid Committee**

Committee Members: A. Ahlers, J.R. Burger, B. Buttler, C.J. Conroy, T. Giarla, J.R. Goheen, P.W. Guiden, G.D. Hartman, V. Hayssen, A.G. Hope, A. Hornsby, C. Jacques, D.M. Kaufman, H.C. Lanier, P.A. Larsen, B.S. McLean, B.R. McMillan (Chair), S.G. Mech, M. Merrick, D.K. Odell, B. Pasch, A.W. Reed, K.C. Rowe, J.A. Soto-Centeno, R.D. Stevens, R.K. Swihart, P. Velazco.

#### **Mission:**

The Grants-in-Aid Committee reviews applications for grants-in-aid and fellowships in mammalogy (American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship in Mammalogy, and the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship in Mammalogy) and either selects recipients for these awards or recommends recipients for these awards.

### **Information Items:**

- (1) The committee currently has 27 members. A few individuals have rotated off this committee and we could use a few new members to facilitate in the important roles of this committee. Please contact Enrique Lessa or Brock McMillan if you are interested in serving on this Committee.
- (2) We received 75 applications for Grants-in-Aid in 2022, which is down significantly from the previous several years. The budget for Grants-in-Aid was set by the Board at \$56,500, which provides funding for 37 awards. Each committee member was asked to review and rank 16 Grants-in-Aid applications. The Committee ranked the 75 proposals and 37 were selected for support based on their average ranking. The diversity and quality of the proposals was outstanding. The committee members continue to make an effort to provide each applicant with some constructive comments on his/her proposal. Names of the students who have received a 2022 grant-in-aid are included at the end of this report.
- (3) This year's Horner Award winner for the top-ranked GIA proposal is Madeleine Becker from George Mason University. The title of her grant application was, "Systematics and Colonization History of Endemic Insular Peromyscus".
- (4) In 2021, we received and reviewed several fellowship applications. The 2021 recipient of the ASM Fellowship was Dana Green from the University of Regina. The 2021 recipient of the Albert R. and Alma Shadle Fellowship was Savannah Bartel from the University of Wisconsin.

For 2022, the application period is still open for the ASM and Shadle Fellowships. These applications will be distributed to committee members electronically and nominees will be selected during a closed session at the annual meeting in Tucson. The 2022 amount of the American Society of Mammalogists Fellowship is \$20,000 and the Albert R. and Alma E. Shadle Fellowship will be \$5,295.

### **Action items:**

(1) 2022 Budget Request—slight change from 2021 due to cost of social tickets.

Grants-in-Aid of Research 37 x \$1,500	\$55,500
Horner Award	\$500
ASM Fellowship	\$20,000
Social tickets for students 15 x \$30	\$450
Total Request	\$76,450

### (2) 2022 ASM Grants-in-Aid Recipients

Ryan Almeid, University of Arizona

Antonia Androski, University of New Mexico

Spenser Babb-Biernacki, Louisiana State University

Madeleine Becker, George Mason University/Smithsonian Institution

Peter Billman, University of Connecticut

Ellie Bolas, University of California, Davis

Abby Burtner, University of Wasington

Tal (Tali) Caspi, University of California, Davis

Kristie Charmoy, University of Illinois at Chicago

Maria Colt, University of Maryland

Kimberly Cook, University of Kentucky

John Dalton, University of Colorado Boulder

Sylvia Durkin, University of California, Berkeley

Marissa Dyck, Ohio University

Laura Hancock. University of Massachusetts Amherst

Carson Hedberg, University of New Mexico

Gabriele Ilarde, University of Minnesota

Anna Jackson, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Katherine Kariatsumari, University of Colorado Boulder

Elizabeth McGuire, University of Oregon

Rachel Nelson, The George Washington University

Danielle Parsons, The Ohio State University

Conner Philson, University of California, Los Angeles

Cameron Pittman, The University of Colorado Boulder

Julia Rizzo, State University of New York

Brian Springall, North Dakota State University

Jess Steketee, University of New Hampshire

Mason Stothart, University of Calgary
Stavi Tennenbaum, Princeton University
Emma Thurau, City University of New York
Dakota Vaccaro, Western Kentucky University
Erin Voss, University of California Berkeley
Sarah Vrla, Texas Tech University
Zoe Weaver, University of Pittsburgh
Ben Wiens, University of Kansas
John Paul Williams Soriano, University of Michigan
Stella Yuan, University of California, Los Angeles

# Respectively submitted,

Brock R. McMillan, Chair (brock mcmillan@byu.edu)